Government / Bear Lake Community Commission

Regional District Boards may, by bylaw, establish one or more local communities within an electoral area to be administered by local community commissions. In 1978, the Bear Lake Local Community Commission was established and it administers local services including:

  • fire protection
  • street lighting
  • cemetery
  • ambulance station
  • recreation facilities
  • community water services

An election for Commissioners is held every four years at the same time as the General Local Elections and is administered by the Regional District. A Chair and Vice-Chair of the Commission are elected annually at the inaugural meeting held on the last Tuesday of November.

Current Membership

The Commission is comprised of four locally elected Commissioners and one ex-officio Commissioner, the Director for Electoral Area G (Crooked River-Parsnip):

  • Jennifer Hebert, Commissioner
  • Thomas Kendall, Vice Chairperson
  • Marlaina McClure
  • David Nicholson
  • Jerrilyn Kirk, Director for Electoral Area G (Crooked River-Parsnip)


Monthly Meeting Schedule

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes

Contact Information for the Bear Lake Community Commission Office