Government / Our History

Prior to 1965, rural areas in British Columbia did not have a uniform local government structure and relied on British Columbia (through its various Ministries) or incorporated as a local improvement district to access basic services such as community water or fire protection. In areas that did have a municipal government structure there was no effective way to coordinate the service needs of multiple jurisdictions or to resolve inter-jurisdictional issues which arose. The solution chosen by British Columbia was the creation of regional districts. Today, all of British Columbia is divided into regional districts with the exception of the most northwest part of the province, known as the Stikine region.

The Regional District of Fraser-Fort George was incorporated on March 8, 1967 and is one of twenty-eight regional districts in British Columbia. The first meeting of the Regional District Board of Directors took place on March 30, 1967 at which time Councillor P. Klotz from the District of Mackenzie was elected Chairman.