Government / RDFFG Overview

The Regional District of Fraser-Fort George (RDFFG) is a municipal government incorporated pursuant to the Local Government Act of British Columbia. Its assets and liabilities belong to the electorate (residents and property owners) within the geographic boundaries of the RDFFG. Similar to the manner in which Canada is made up of provinces and territories, the RDFFG is a federation of municipalities and electoral areas.

Regional districts provide:

  • services in rural areas
  • joint or shared services in municipalities and rural areas
  • administrative services including capital borrowing for its members
  • the political forum for local government policy matters

About 100,000 people reside within the boundary of RDFFG and there are four municipalities and seven electoral areas:

  • City of Prince George
  • District of Mackenzie
  • Village of Valemount
  • Village of McBride
  • Electoral Areas A, C, D, E, F, G and H

The RDFFG Board of Directors consists of 14 elected officials. Seven are appointed by their municipal councils and seven are directly elected to the board from within the electoral areas of the RDFFG.

The Local Government Act identifies the following purposes of a regional district:

  • Providing good government for its community.
  • Providing the services and other things that the board considers are necessary or desirable for all or part of its community.
  • Providing for stewardship of the public assets of its community.
  • Fostering the current and future economic, social and environmental well being of its community.

2016 Census Profile