Wastewater Systems / Overview

The Regional District of Fraser-Fort George operates five community sewer systems in accordance with the requirements of the Environmental Management Act.

System components typically include gravity feed or low-pressure collection mains, control valves and lagoons for storage and treatment. Discharge following treatment, is by spray irrigation to agricultural fields and forested areas, or directly to a watercourse.

Costs associated with construction, operation and maintenance of these systems are paid by residents in each service area.